You are here: HomeNews20170411 › Salvation Army Officer Named A Vice Chancellors Scholar At University Of Divinity Graduations

Salvation Army officer named a Vice Chancellor's Scholar at University of Divinity graduations

Salvation Army officer named a Vice Chancellor's Scholar at University of Divinity graduations

Salvation Army officer named a Vice Chancellor's Scholar at University of Divinity graduations

11 April 2017

Lieut Amanda Hart (right) with fellow University of Divinity graduate Lieut Claire Jones. Photo: Major Gary Hart

By Major Christine Faragher

Lieutenant Amanda Hart has been honoured with a Vice Chancellor's Scholar award, at the main graduation ceremony for the University of Divinity at St Patrick's Cathedral in Melbourne last month.

Lieut Hart, the corps officer at Warragul in Victoria, undertook her studies through The Salvation Army's Catherine Booth College, which is recognised as a college of the University of Divinity

The Vice Chancellor's Scholar award honours students who have demonstrated excellence in fulfilling one or more of the university’s graduate attributes. Lieut Hart's award recognised her high academic achievements, which were managed alongside excellent ministry engagement with the community of Victor Harbor in South Australia, where she previously served as a corps officer. It was noted that in this local context she promoted mission at all levels and was highly effective in networking and creatively building community.

The ceremony was a significant ecumenical event with graduates from colleges representing many different Christian traditions including Catholic, Anglican, Lutheran, Churches of Christ, The Salvation Army, Coptic Orthodox, Baptist and the Uniting Church. 

A University of Divinity graduation ceremony in Adelaide in December last year also included several Catherine Booth College students.

The Catherine Booth College graduates from the December and March graduations, and those connected with The Salvation Army who graduated from other colleges of the University of Divinity in the March ceremony, are:

Catherine Booth College
Diploma in Theology
Hazel Ann Allan
Taeg Keun Ko

Advanced Diploma in Ministry
Claire Jones

Advanced Diploma in Theology
Bronwyn Bithell        
Harriet Farquhar
Jordan Innes
Sarah Innes

Advanced Diploma in Theology and Ministry
Dale Allan
Elizabeth Kang
Michael Nally
Dale Saunders
Dianne Size
Tim Size
Michelle Smith
Aaron Stobie
Sarah Thompson
Lynne Turnbull
Lucy Vandy

Bachelor of Ministry
Gemma Keogh
Erin Mains
Jacqueline Milkins

Bachelor of Theology
Annita Allman
Peter Brookshaw
Megan Dale
Amanda Hart

Graduate Diploma in Theology
Andrew Craib
Anne Hill

Graduate Diploma in Systematic Theology
Rebecca Walker
Brenda Young

Stirling Theological College
Graduate Certificate in Supervision
Tracey English
Lynda Van Gaalen-Prentice

Trinity College
Graduate Diploma in Theology
Caitlin Hallett


No comments yet - be the first.

Leave a Comment

- Will not be published

Email me follow-up comments

Note: Your comment requires approval before being published.

Default avatarWould you like to add a personal image? Visit to get your own free gravatar, a globally-recognized avatar. Once setup, your personal image will be attached every time you comment.