You are here: HomeNews20170517 › New Australia Territory To Operate With Six Divisions

New Australia Territory to operate with six divisions

New Australia Territory to operate with six divisions

New Australia Territory to operate with six divisions

17 May 2017


National Commander Commissioner Floyd Tidd has announced that the operating model for a new Australia Territory will feature six divisions.

It follows the announcement on 1 May of the structural foundation for an Australia Territory, which included the location of territorial headquarters (Melbourne), leadership models and their functions, a new vision for The Salvation Army in Australia, and a gender equity plan.   

Further to the 1 May announcement, approval has been received from the Army's International Headquarters to implement a divisional structure comprising six divisions. They are:

  • New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory
  • Queensland
  • Tasmania
  • Western Australia
  • South Australia and the Northern Territory
  • Victoria

The decision means that the existing three Victorian divisions and Victoria State Social Command, will be reconfigured into a single Victoria Division. South Australia and the Northern Territory will become a single division.

"The objectives of the Australia One program – Aligned Vision, United Voice, Greater Impact, Increased Innovation, Stronger Partnerships and Better Stewardship – were applied in determining all of our recommendations to The Salvation Army's International Headquarters, including how we best configure divisions under a united Australia Territory," said Commissioner Tidd.

"These changes will be included in the detail design work for implementation referred to in the 1 May announcement. This design work will involve existing divisional leaders and stakeholders. There are no decisions made yet with regard to a divisional headquarters location, leadership, staffing or area officers."

The establishment of six divisions, primarily reflecting state-based alignment (with territories aligned with a nearby state) has been designed to further facilitate the objectives of Australia One. These changes will be part of the overall Australia One implementation plan, and it is expected that they will come into effect in early January 2018.

"A state-based configuration with a teamwork approach in supporting all mission expressions provides for increased consistency and opportunities for transfer of shared learning and deeper impact," said Commissioner Tidd. "Consistent singular leadership across a state enhances aligned vision and the expression of united voice. Having multiple, empowered area officers within the division promotes local mission delivery through coaching, supervision and empowerment with accountability for local leadership.

"State-based leadership and structure also provides opportunity for stronger partnerships within The Salvation Army and with external partners in mission. Additionally, six divisions provides a greater opportunity for the inclusion of all divisional leaders as active participants in a singular senior national leadership team in partnership with territorial leaders.

"And finally, the divisional configuration of six divisions in Australia reflects better stewardship of resources, including officers, staff, property and finances in support of mission delivery."

Further information regarding these changes is available through the Australia One website:


  1. Geoff M Webb
    Geoff M Webb

    Congratulations on a sensible decision. It is encouraging to see progress to the modern world

Leave a Comment

- Will not be published

Email me follow-up comments

Note: Your comment requires approval before being published.

Default avatarWould you like to add a personal image? Visit to get your own free gravatar, a globally-recognized avatar. Once setup, your personal image will be attached every time you comment.